Ikinari Anata ni Koishiteiru Review

I would like to say that my lack of updates is due to playing eroge non-stop, but sadly it’s because I’ve been busy getting all the random crap I need for the Jet Program ready. Also I’ll be graduating in about 10 days, so I’ve been trying to get random assignments and junk out of the way for that.           

                                            

Company: 枕 (makura)
Game site: いきなりあなたに恋している
Release date: July 29, 2011
Links: VNDB, Walkthrough, GETCHU

The protagonist, Chouji, is your super popular student council president. At school he maintains a perfect image, and is surrounded by the top girls of the school, namely the four heroines of the game. Of course, this is just a front. When amongst themselves, these four girls show their true selves. With the 4 heroines living with him, Chouji is in for one hell of a ride.

Opening


Story

The story begins from a point where the cast are all already living together. Along with this, the heroines all have decently strong feelings for him from the start. I found this a little odd because the writers also didn’t include many events showing the two getting closer together. So half the time I’m wondering why the two even like each other.

Chouji is a pretty cool guy, but for some reason most of the heroines love teasing him. Though I say TEASE, a more accurate term in my opinion would be ‘verbal abuse’. Basically throughout the common route you see most of the heroines treating him like crap. The writers were PROBABLY aiming for some tsundere comedy thing, but it just PISSED ME OFF. Fortunately Chouji takes it like a man; I imagined him committing suicide a few times though. Abuse aside, the common route has a bit of dry comedy and little else. It has very little appeal and I was very tempted to drop the game at this point.

The individual routes are pretty hard to follow. Despite this, the individual routes are actually significantly better than the common route. Unfortunately, there’s not much icha icha or romantic development. HOWEVER, the comedy is pretty good, and some of the endings are VERY good. Things get a bit more dramatic in the routes, but they don’t go overboard with it.

Characters

Tane is insanely strong and most people see her as a delinquent. However, this is just a misunderstanding; she’s actually something like an ojousama. She appealed a bit more to me because she’s the only one of the lot that doesn’t intentionally abuse Chouj. Her route contains a large segment to do with the past, which was quite touching. It gives a base for why she might like Chouji, and it’s a pretty interesting read. The writers threw in some drama concerning Tane’s insecurities of being Chouji’s girlfriend. I feel that the only reason they added this in was to lead up to a good ending. Unfortunately, Tane is the only heroine who doesn’t get an epilogue.


Ryou is a hardcore tsundere, who acts like an S for most of the time. Like Tane, Ryou’s route also has a semi-long section on the past. However, unlike Tane’s, it doesn’t show anything significant. Ryou’s route has the most BS out of all the routes because they add in some spiritual crap. Basically, Ryou’s family has been protecting some cursed stone, and she’s basically doomed to guard it. However, Chouji manages to solve everything almost instantly. Nothing is explained here, and all you basically see is him saving the day. Honestly, I felt like the writers were trolling here. However, things get better after the two start living together. After the segment on the past and the random crap with that stone, all that’s left is H scenes. Let’s just say that Ryou wants Chouji to ORDER her around =p.

Tsugumu is something like the schools maid, who also used to live there. She has a very mischievous personality and likes to play pranks on Chouji. Right after the two get into a relationship, you skip to a scene after they’ve apparently broken up (LOL). From here, events are shown in the form of cut-aways during a larger conversation. As you might have guessed, this made things pretty hard to follow. Most of the route isn’t anything fantastic, but things get a bit heart shaking near the end. The ending + epilogue is pretty AWESOME though😄.

Finally we come to Eika, the blood related sister heroine and most likely the reason that any of you will even consider playing this game. If it makes you guys feel any better, their parents are ALSO blood related. So that’s like super incest or something =3. Of all the routes, her route is the most hilarious because a huge amount of H. It turns out that Eika is a huge brocon, and her favorite past time is touching herself. She can’t go a day without it; she even does it during class. Because Eika is so damn horny all the time, she figures that Chouji is also like this and is worried that he’ll become sort of sex offender. To stop this, she starts providing Chouji some ‘okazu’. The whole route is filled with incest and H. You get a small segment about their parents near the end of the route, which actually turns out sorta touching.

Route ranking: Eika, Tane and Tsumugu, Ryou

Overall route wise, Eika wins. Ending wise, it would be Tane or Tsumugu. Ryou was pretty average overall, but the M H-scenes were somewhat rewarding.

Story: 5/10
Character: 6/10
Graphics: 7/10
Music: 7/10

Overall: 65/100 (not a total)

ATLAS: Medium

Though some aspects of this game were very nicely made, but overall I can’t say that I would recommend playing it. The lack of a straightforward plot and the random jumps made things annoying for me. Lack of romantic development was disappointing, especially since this game is pretty damn slice of life orientated. If Eika makes you wanna play this game, be prepared to rage during the common route.

Will be playing Tsujidou-san no Jun’ai Road once it comes out, and I plan to write a review it. I’ll be pretty busy over the next couple of months with RL, so I can’t promise that I’ll be able to write anything on it soon after the release.

21 thoughts on “Ikinari Anata ni Koishiteiru Review

  1. Ugh… I didn’t like this game very much either. I dropped it early.

    Btw you should put a new category system for scoring, like Humour: 4/10, or Moe: 9/10, etc…? those are the things i want to know the most. Graphics 7/10 wouldn’t be necessarily because that would just be looking at the screenshots?

      • Haha I guess that does make sense. Talking about stuff like graphics and system usually seems like a waste of time. However, I doubt I’ll move onto that sorta upgraded scoring. I don’t think my opinion of humor and moe is very accurate. Also my memory of the game starts to disappear basically straight after I finish it >___>

  2. Imoutos can hardly get better than Eika. Well, maybe a bit of yandere and silver hair, but that’s just me. Her parents sure set a good example.

    And I wonder how far they take the slave thing for Ryou….😛

    • There isn’t really much to spoil when it comes to the story of the game. At most my post will do is tell you how annoying or good particular aspects of the route are.But feel free to not read this post so that you don’t get spoiled at all😄. Would love to hear your opinion on the game afterwards! ^^

    • I loved Tsugumu’s ending ^^. A bit typical, but very nicely implemented. But I have to agree with you, I was forcing myself a lot of the time to finish the game >___>.

    • In regards to story, the background story behind Tane and Chouji was one of the parts that stood out. It was both interesting and touching.

      But yeah, overall the game was pretty plain. There’s only so much randomness I can take >___>

  3. Definitely gonna play this game…….Aero I heard youre learning japanese…….just wondering what method you are using.I am trying to play some VN on the PSP .Do you think its possible for an amature to extract scipts from a psp VN or use an ORC programm to get text from a psp hooked in a computer screen

    • Yes, I am indeed studying Japanese atm. Haven’t really been putting as much effort into it as I should be lately though >____>. For grammar I study using the following textbooks:

      GENKI I
      GENKI II
      Tobira
      A Dictionary Basic Japanese Grammar
      Dictionary Intermediate Japanese Grammar

      These all cost quite a bit of money, but there are ebook versions of them out there somewhere. You may find Tae Kim’s Grammar Guide to be useful.

      To study Kanji, I use the flashcard program ANKI. The Kanji I study comes from the GENKI textbooks and a couple of other textbooks. Also I add in Kanji as I see it in eroge.

      I’m not sure if you need much expertise to do that kinda extraction; I’ve never tried it myself so I don’t really know sorry. All the VNs I’ve played on PSP, I played without the help of anything. Of course this meant that I didn’t understand some bits of it, but my Japanese was good enough to understand a big chunk of it.

Leave a Reply

