[NSFW] Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia Review

Hi everyone! It has been six months since my last post and I believe many of you probably think I have stopped writing, which unfortunately almost becomes an actuality. Within this half a year time span, I have made several attempts to draft a new post and every single try ended in a contemplation of whether or not I had what it needed to continue writing on this blog. Lack of interest towards the newly published eroge, as I have gotten enough share of entertainment from reading LNs, is the most likely the biggest perpetrator to this dilemma. (Maybe I should do a LN review next time…)

Everything changes however when Lusterine make an announcement for their newest game, Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia II. All the sudden, my interest for eroge is rekindled and I finally have something to look forward to. This in return supplies me with enough motivation to finally remove a game from my To-Review-List.

Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia2

Really hyping for this one!

Illustrated by Inoino who is one of my favorite artist, Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia was on my playlist ever since I learned about its existence. As a matter of fact, I had completed this game a few months ago when it first came out and planned to write a review soon after that. Regrettably, work became so busy that the only free time I managed to squeeze out of my schedule was predominantly made up of constantly interrupted waiting and traveling time. Nevertheless, not even once have I forgotten about Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia as it has taken a special seat in my heart. For me, this game is a paragon of classic corruption games.

So without further ado, let us get started and I hope everyone will be able to enjoy their stay here, お手柔らかにお願いします。

Title Screen

Name : 光翼戦姫エクスティア
Romaji : Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia
Release Date:2015/05/29
Company: Lusterine 

Story and Setting

I will be a man and acknowledge upfront that there is a negligible story content in this game. All it has is a basic and cliche setting where our main heroine, Katsuragi Marina, has to become a magical girl in order to fight against invaders from a different dimension. Furthermore, her transformation device which is invented by the genius Amakubo Yuri relies on sexual excitement as a source of energy. Together with the assistance of our main protagonist, Shio Souma, who also happen to be Marina’s childhood friend, they cooperate to repel the otherworldly trespassers.

There are considerable number of raburabu hscenes, enough to fuel those NTR feels when the corruption takes place

Does it sounds familiar? It probably does, because this kind of setting has been recycled into many variations and used repeatedly. In fact, there are so much resemblances to another famous corruption game, Beat Angel Escalayer, that players will consciously or unconsciously draw comparisons between the two. Regardless of what others may say about how the setting is imitative, and while I can not really argue against that, I would like to call it…classical instead. After all, when it comes to corruption, nothing strikes home like the corruption of magical girls.

Character

If a nakige is a game that puts in effort to make players cry and a charage is a game that tries to bring out the best of their heroines and makes them as appealing as possible, what do you think is the main attraction of a corruption game? That is easy, the corruption of course! Naturally, the next question to ask is what exactly made a good corruption story? Sadly, not many makers get this one correct.

Heroines attributes and diversities are probably among the last facets when it comes to determining the quality of a game that belongs to this category. After all, if I am looking to spend time with attractive heroines, I will be playing a charage rather than a corruption game. Scriptwriters at Lusterine understand this and therefore are not hesitant to have a solo cookie-cutter heroine monopolizing almost all the hscenes.

Despite of having two sub-heroines, the number of hscenes allocated to each of them can be easily counted with one hand

For whatever resources they save with these lackadaisical settings and stereotypical heroines, ExS-Tia authors compensates with a generous variety of monsters, each equipped with a unique corruption technique. If a typical eroge offers multiple endings based on the chosen heroine, this game allows players to pick endings based on preferred monsters and their corruption method. In this character section, I would like to introduce some of these dimensional invaders as I believe it will be more interesting than writing about the heroines.

Gurakegiru

0429

Gurakegiru is a monster that loves to make girls drink his seminal fluid, which has the ability to cause incurable thirst that can only be quenched by semen. As though that is not enough, it can also alter their targets’ sensation into loving the taste and smell of liquid pearls.

0415

Vabosagiru

0455

As you can see from the CG above, this monster closely resembles a carnivore plant. Equipped aphrodisiac spores, Vabosagiru renders its victims powerless, swallows them a whole and finally turns them into one of its kind.

0477

Obusumin

0514

Obusumin has an interesting ability that allows it to impregnate female from any species. Upon delivery, the child bearer will experience intense ecstasy and she will also find her newborn monster babies very endearing. Combine these two factors together and you will soon have a newly corrupted heroine.

0527

These are just a few monster sample for you to get a feeling for this game. There are definitely more than just these three but I do not want to spoil too much. After all, I understand that learning and finding out about the mechanic of corruption is part of the fun when playing this kind of game.

Gameplay and Systems

“The only hard thing to play nukige, corruption and etc is that i get so excited…” Agusto Coelho

Quoted above is a comment written under my [NSFW] An Incoming Trend to Corruption post by one of Amaenbo readers, which I wholeheartedly agree by the way. Although I am doubtful that Lusterine staffs have taken this factor into consideration, their approach of dividing story into arcs really made playing a nukige like this much easier to handle.

In every arc, Marina will engage in a physical encounter with only one monster and whenever she is defeated, the anticipated hscene ensues. Losing to the same enemy three consecutive times though will lead you straight to that monster corruption ending. On the other hand, winning at least once will raise the necessary flags for you to proceed to the next adversary, and it is arranged such that the corruption theme get heavier with each passing arc. This kind of approach allows for divide and conquer play style, making it easier to stop playing after a ‘satisfying’ arc and come back later in the future to continue.

0749

This arc system is very convenient when you need material for masturbation. Start the game, pick your arc and fap away!😄

Winning and losing in this game depends on a mini game based on a simple paper-scissor-rock mechanism. This time around though, I can say with conviction that Lusterine has put a great care to details when it includes the instant win and instant lose buttons. While instant win button has made its appearances in some other games, instant lose button is something original that corruption game lovers, who love to see their heroines lose to monsters, will find handy.

My Impression and Conclusion

I believe it is easy to see that I am singing Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia praises. However when you look at it objectively, there is nothing really special about this game. The story are neither seat gripping nor tear jerking, and the characters are also not particularly interesting. If there is anything worth mentioning about ExS-Tia is that it does not try to be something else. Created with corruption as the leitmotif, Lusterine pours all its budgets and efforts into bringing the most out of this theme, nothing more and nothing less.

I don't know about you, but I find Marina more beautiful in her demon form!

 Personally, I find Marina more beautiful in her demon form!

All in all, I feel that Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia fulfills my expectation by delivering what it has promised: lots and lots of corruption. That may not sound exactly like an amazing praise, but please reflect on it for a moment: how often have you hyped on something only to be disappointed by the actual result? Probably too many times. In that sense, this game has done well enough that I would not hesitate to recommend it to all of you. If you love corruption game like me, you have to give this game a try. If you are a newcomer to our club and need somewhere to start, this is a game for you. If you are looking for anything else, please find it elsewhere for there is nothing but corruption in this game.

Throwing in another screenshot just for the sake of it

Throwing in another screenshot just for the sake of it!

Thank you all for reading and as usual I will close with my favorite CG from this game.

A beautiful CG that illustrates a transient state between pre-corruption and post-corruption

A beautiful CG that illustrates a transient state between pre-corruption and post-corruption

Cao~~~ ( ̄▽ ̄)ノ

22 thoughts on “[NSFW] Kouyoku Senki ExS-Tia Review

  1. KTKR!!!
    Aquaspirit had returned!! Rejoice!! Rejoice!!
    Long live akuochi!!

    Well, yeah , personally I think that this is quite a wonderful game
    A lot of corruption types and all…
    The only drawback is the lack of heroine to corrupt…
    Overall , I’d say that it might definitely be in the 3 best corruption game of 2015 (Not like there are that many corruption games in 2015 though :V)

  2. Looks interesting. I think I’ll give it a try.
    Btw I really like your reviews! Hope you will have the time and motivation to keep making them!🙂

    • Thank you for reading! Just by writing a comment you have given me motivation. After all nothing more demotivating than writing a blog and no one is commenting. Hope you enjoy the game.

  3. Good article, the game looks appealing enough for those looking for some quick ero+corruption. Though my favorite corruption VN to date is Euphoria, which almost left me traumatised… It soiled the protagonist even more than the heroines and deeply affected the player.

    • Good ending? Maybe. There is probably one but I don’t try to get it so I can’t say for sure… Bad endings is just too many for me to say exactly… I think something around 6-8 bad endings.

      • i just installed this game in my computer, but the text only display CCCC or hhhhh and when i update the game using patch a window showed up and forced quit the game. how do i fix this?

    • My bad. On further inspection of your recent posts, I see you haven’t been doing that for a while now orz. Guess I haven’t been paying much attention to your posts…

      • Yea, I only use that in the beginning so amaenbo reader don’t get culture shock from my first few post. But after that few posts, I drop it because by now people who can’t stomach my stuff should know not to read posts that comes with corruption tag. Maybe I should reuse that red text in future?

        • The colour stands out. I wasn’t really playing much attention, and pretty much ignored the the NSFW in the main title. My fault I suppose since I should have known orz

Leave a Reply

